Author Topic: List of bets  (Read 8284 times)

Tags:
  • All members
List of bets
« on: 13 Feb 2014, 14:50 »
The main difficulty I am having with my trigger is the slowing down of my current bets refresh rate after leaving the bot running for some time.  I'm sure this is when my list of bets gets too long.

But I wonder, what is a long list of bets.  If I lay £100 and it gets taken in 50 £2 bets, does that give me a longer list of bets than if it got taken in one £100 bet?

And more importantly what can I do to improve things.  I'm running the bot on an old and fairly low end laptop and I think that a new PC may well be the answer.  But what am I looking for in particular to deal with this problem.  Processing speed I'm guessing, but I'm far from an expert so not sure whether better RAM or hard drive space come into the equation?

Many thanks
O

Re: List of bets
« Reply #1 on: 13 Feb 2014, 16:41 »
Hi
The list of bets is longer if your £100 lay is matched incrementally. If you log on to your Betfair account and check the list of bets there, you will see the same.

While processing speed and system spec might help some way, it is known that the program's performance can be affected by large numbers of bets having to be updated, or high numbers of markets being monitored. I think the latter is the more important one.

Depending on what your trading requirement is, here are a few general suggestions for trying to improve things:
use the latest version of the program
start monitoring markets only when needed
use triggers to adjust market refresh rates according to the number of markets being monitored
use triggers to delete non-required or settled markets
use Scheduler and Locator to load markets in batches according to the event start time
in the settings make sure Log Trigger Expressions is switched off
also try and switch off logging altogether and see if performance is better
switch off things you don't need that may be consuming data requests e.g. score, silks etc.